‘Some of my teammates told me’ – Levi Colwill reacts to incorrect penalty decision against Brighton

Photo: Jacques Feeney/Offside/Offside via Getty Images

Download the Real Chelsea Fans app for all the latest Chelsea news

Levi Colwill has admitted he had no idea a penalty was initially awarded against Chelsea before it was overturned by VAR during Sunday’s 3-2 win over Brighton.

As 10-man Blues held on for maximum points against the Seagulls in the dying stages of the game, centre referee, Craig Pawson pointed to the spot after the ball appeared to have hit Colwill on the hand.

After a VAR review, Pawson was called to the pitch-side monitor to assess things for himself, after which he immediately pointed to the spot for a penalty. The ref was however told to rescind the decision, and order a throw of the ball instead after further review by VAR concluded that the ball hit Colwill on the face and not the hand.

Speaking after the match, the centre back said he was certain the ball didn’t hit his hand, and even told his teammates so before they told him a penalty had been given.

He told the official club website: “I’m not sure what happened with the penalty, to be honest, as it clearly hit me in the face.

“I knew that straightaway and was even showing people the mark on my face!

“It hit me so hard, I didn’t know where the ball had ended up and some of the boys were telling me that a penalty had been given. Thankfully, VAR overturned it and the right decision was awarded in the end.”

The England international added: “I’m super proud of the team performance today, especially in the second half playing with 10 men.

“It shows what we can do as a team, we really stuck together and fought for one another and we’re all delighted with the result. It’s something for us to build on now and hopefully we can take that into Wednesday against [Manchester] United.”