Southampton thought they had equalised with 15 minutes remaining through Charlie Austin but referee Martin Atkinson deemed Austin to have fouled Chelsea goalkeeper Willy Caballero.
Chelsea legend Frank Lampard insists referee Atkinson was wrong to disallow the goal because it wasn’t a foul.
“No it wasn’t a foul as far as I’m concerned,” Lampard said.
“What I was interested to hear was Graham Poll say that you can’t touch the goalkeeper in the six-yard box.
“You might as well give them a VIP rope and a bouncer!
“If nobody can go in there and compete against them, you can’t protect them that much.
“I don’t get it, it’s not a foul, it should have been a goal for Southampton.”